Get your hands off my DSTV, you damn dirty ape!

Yesterday, while lying on the couch watching cartoons [yes, cartoons: Phineas and Ferb is great, okay!] a loud bang set my dogs running outside. Their barks heralded trouble. They went ballistic. Something was wrong.

I went to investigate and found…monkeys. Nothing more or less special than a gang [yes, a gang] of monkeys running around in the complex with their average tomfoolery. This is not uncommon. Our place borders on the Burman Bush nature reserve. Monkeys are a regular feature in our hood. I chuckled at how they interacted with my dogs, and then went back to the couch.

But something was amiss! The TV screen had frozen in place. Channels wouldn’t change. Nothing would work.

Oh no, I thought. They haven’t, have they? Surely those monkeys haven’t broken my DSTV…

I went upstairs to look at the satellite dish. Quickly my chuckles turned to rage as a monkey sat there, on the corrugated iron roof of the deck, holding my broken antenna in its hand. Like a damn trophy. It looked so proud of itself, the little bastard.

I'm convinced I live near this guy...
I’m convinced I live near this guy…

So thanks to “Mojo Jojo”, in my manflu state, I’ve had no TV to watch. I’ve also had to fork out for a new dish [yep, he broke it beyond repair], which isn’t particularly fun.

Lesson? If you decide to live near a nature reserve, you’re going to have to deal with monkeys. And, yes, they might break your DSTV and even get into your house to try eat a Christmas cake [another story for another day, perhaps?], but they’re actually really awesome.

One thought on “Get your hands off my DSTV, you damn dirty ape!

  1. I’ve been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours lately, but I by no
    means discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It is beautiful pric enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent
    content as you did, the net will likely be a lot more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

