I’m likely to look very much like Homer Simpson on Sunday: Taking on my first ever 1/2 marathon #DurbanRunnerChallenge

Yep...this is so me.
Yep…this is so me.

You know those people you see running on the beach/street/track/trail that look like they’re just coasting along and enjoying themselves? You know those people who just look so smooth and fluid, like this is something that comes easy to them? Come on…I know you do. Well, I’m not one of them.

running

But nonetheless, I’ve kind of become a runner. I started doing the North Beach Parkrun a year ago, and then moved on my first ever 10km a few weeks ago. On Sunday, however, I’ll be venturing into something I’ve never done before: a 1/2 marathon!

My brother, Mark, phoned me on Tuesday morning and convinced me to take part in the Durban Runner Challenge, a brand new 10km and 21.1km race in Glenwood. Truth be told, I’m kakking myself a little bit. I’ve never done more than 15km.

Durban Runner Challenge route profile.
Durban Runner Challenge route profile — a couple of climbs, but shouldn’t be tooooo bad.

The positive is that it’ll be a good measure of how ready I am for the Mandela Day Marathon [the 1/2 version, anyway] on August 30. For those interested, entries close TODAY [Friday, July 31]. That one will be at altitude, and is a hectic route, so this one will be a nice benchmark.

Expect an update on Sunday afternoon. But just know I’m going to look like this:

Everything-Hurts-and-Im-Dying-Parks-and-Recreation

durban runner

One thought on “I’m likely to look very much like Homer Simpson on Sunday: Taking on my first ever 1/2 marathon #DurbanRunnerChallenge

Leave a Reply

