What do Paris, Stonehenge and Land’s End have in common? They’re terribly disappointing. Apparently.

Some headlines grab my attention straight off the bat. Some don’t even hold me until the end of the headline itself. The one I’m about to share was certainly the former.

The Top Ten: Disappointing famous places

Now I’ve been to two of these “disappointing” places, so it’s not enough to form any kind of valid opinion. But neither disappointed me at all.

2015/01/img_1079.png

I’ve been to Paris twice, once with my mom and sister in a freezing cold December, and then on my honeymoon. Both were whirlwind tours of the city, but were fantastic. The Louvre was disappointing, I’ll say that (too many people, guided handsets not particularly great, that sort of annoying stuff) but the rest was awesome. The Sacre Coeur is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen and the Eiffel Tower is as amazing as the pictures suggest.

2015/01/img_1081.png

The other I’ve been to is Stonehenge. And I’ve been a few times. I can see why people think it’s disappointing, truth be told. It is just a pile of rocks, really. And if that’s how you want to look at it, that’s what you’ll see. But if you read up about it and get a sense of the various theories behind it, it becomes an incredibly fascinating place. It’s the story — not necessarily the rocks — that make it such a magical place. I’ll keep going back to it. One of my favourite places in the world.

2015/01/img_1080.png

Have you been to any of the other places on the list? Agree or disagree with the article? Pop a comment below.

This post is based on a piece in The Independent. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

