It’s a reading and writing kind of year #NewYearResolutions #2015ReadingChallenge

You’ve surely heard about the mechanic whose car is never working, the cobbler whose shoes are always broken, or the seamstress whose dresses are holey. Well, I’ve kind of been on the same vibe — I’m the writer who doesn’t write for himself.

The theory is that if you do something every day as your job, you won’t really be keen to do that again when you get home. Like the mechanic who doesn’t fix his own car because he’s been fixing cars all day. You get the idea. That’s been me when it comes to writing. As a journalist for the biggest paper in the country, I write several thousand words a week. Truth be told, when I was done with work I couldn’t stomach the idea of writing for myself. My blog suffered as a result. My last post was several months ago, and before that the posts were intermittent at best.

However, this year, it all changes. I have challenged myself to post three times a week. Length doesn’t matter, as long as I get something out there. Maybe if I write for fun, it’ll feed into the writing I do as my job. That way, I score no matter what.

write

Along with the lack of writing, I realised that I haven’t been reading enough. I guess that comes from the amount of time I spend reading newspapers, academic pieces, studies, reports, press releases and the like. Like with my writing, I read all day so reading at night is the last thing on my mind.

Again like my writing, this changes this year.

I have set myself a New Year resolution that is quite simply: read more. I hadn’t set any specific goals with this regard, until a colleague Santham Pillay sent me something really interesting:

2015 reading list

I’ve already stared (albeit accidentally) with a book that was recommended to me by my brother, Andrew. Robert M Pirsig’s Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance has kept me captivated for the last few weeks. It’s a difficult read, and certainly not a standard novel by any stretch of the imagination. But it is brilliant, dealing with issues of how different people see the world. I’m about 150 pages in, with about 200 to go. And I’m loving it.

Each time I tick off one of the items on the list I’ll post an updated pictures, with the hashtag #2015ReadingChallenge, on here and on Instagram.  Join me on there and take up the challenge yourself, if you’d wish. Should be a good.

zen

On that note, let me wish you all a happy 2015, and may it be better than the year before.

Leave a Reply

