I’m going to the Olympics! #BlogO13

If I ever competed at the Olympics, I’d definitely be one of those athletes who got the Olympic rings tattooed somewhere on my body. If I won, I’d probably get my medal inked on my chest or something. But, let’s be totally honest, there’s not a chance that’s ever going to happen. Or is there…

Well, no. There’s not. I won’t ever go to the Olympics. However, I will — and this is a tenuous link even by my low standards — be competing in the Mr Price Sport Blog Olympics 2013 in Durban tomorrow.

The Mr Price Sport Blog Olympics will take place tomorrow. And I'm really excited.
The Mr Price Sport Blog Olympics will take place tomorrow. And I’m really excited.

I’ll be representing a team of awesome Durban bloggers against opposition from the Cape and Joburg. The best chance of me scoring any victories is if there’s a pie eating contest as one of the events. [Man, I really hope there’s a pie eating contest…]

Here’s what a press release on the event reckons:

24 sports and lifestyle bloggers will compete against each other on Wednesday 13 November 2013, in a series of fun events, designed to make use of the fantastic ProMaster range currently available in Mr Price Sport stores. These include the Afrisak, the Waboba Ball, the Zooper Ball and the Super Frisbee. Each of the recreational games in the range has been included in events that will test the BlogOlympians’ skill in various disciplines, while bringing a light-hearted element to the competition. The Mr Price Sport BlogOlympics will consist of a series of eight events at Moses Mabhida Stadium’s Peoples Park, including ‘Zooper Trooper’, an obstacle course relay and a frisbee tossing competition.

Ahead of the event, I think you should get on board and follow the people who’ll be kicking my ass at the event. And watch this space for further developments.

DURBS
Matthew Savides
Amith Gosai – amg133.blogspot.com
Sandile Nene – weblogforlove.com
Nadia van der Mescht – nadiavdmescht.co.za
Chia Kougianos – thesocialite.co.za
Dimi Ingle – stylescoop.co.za
Fathima Kathadra – happinessisat.blogspot.com
Kevin Robarts – outrightrugby.com
Abi Ray – ecr.co.za

THE CAPE
Sibongile Mafu – sboshmafu.wordpress.com
Andrew Berry – we-are-awesome.com
Dylan Moore – mrcapetown.co.za
Tyrone Woods – mycitybynight.co.za
Emma Jackson – stuffbymissemmajude.com
Matthew Nepgen – sasportsblog.net
Kathryn Rossiter – becomingyou.co.za
Daddy – lifeissavage.co.za

JOZI
Jacques Henning – theyellowcap.com
Lyton Sibanda – justcurious.co.za
Kirsty Bissett – kirstybisset.com
Kate Nokwe – katenokwe.wordpress.com
Uno de Waal – 10and5.com
Nonhle Ndala – Mr Price Sport
Wade Paton – SA Hockey player
Tanya Kovarsky – tanyakovarsky.com / rattleandmum.co.za

Oh, and no need to worry about it, I won’t be getting the Mr Price themed Olympic tattoo. But even if I did, it surely couldn’t be worse than this gold medal blunder:

And the gold medal in spelling goes to...not this person.
And the gold medal in spelling goes to…not this person.

Leave a Reply

