Bruno Mars would “die for you”? That’s a little bit stalkerish, isn’t it?

Bruno Mars... proving that Darwin couldn't have been right when he suggested that the smartest survive.

Hello, everyone. Gather ’round. It’s confession time. Are you ready? Good.

I hate Bruno Mars.

Yes, I know this doesn’t make me special given how many people hate him. But it’s still a confession I need to make. And I hate him not because he’s super slick and has a decent voice. It’s not because he’s more commercially successful than many of the bands I enjoy. It’s not even because I could feel women parts growing on me as I stood in line at Musica buying the album for my girlfriend’s sister.

I hate Bruno Mars because of the retarded lyrics in that “Grenade” song.

Honestly, “Grenade” has the worst lyrics I’ve heard in a long time – and, yes, this is even during a time that he’s competing against Eminen and Rihanna’s “Love The Way You Lie”. Here are the lyrics (chorus only):

I would gladly give Bruno Mars a grenade if I owned one.

I’d catch a grenade for ya (yeah, yeah, yeah)
Throw my hand on a blade for ya (yeah, yeah, yeah)
I’d jump in front of a train for ya (yeah, yeah , yeah)
You know I’d do anything for ya (yeah, yeah, yeah)
Oh, oh
I would go through all this pain,
Take a bullet straight through my brain,
Yes, I would die for ya baby;
But you won’t do the same

That’s correct, Bruno Mars, the person you’re singing this to won’t “do the same” because they’re not stupid. They don’t want to die. Apparently you do – that’s what your lyrics suggest, anyway.

You see, there’s a difference being dying to save someone and dying for them. In the first case, you’re actually being nice. In the latter, you’re being a creepy-ass stalker. Think about it… Just read about all the insane people who set themselves on fire because some guy/girl won’t have a relationship with them or won’t accept their sexual advances.

That’s what you’re saying you’ll do, Bruno Mars: you’re willing to kill yourself for a girl beause she won’t dig you back. That’s just a little bit silly, do you think? Stalker.

4 thoughts on “Bruno Mars would “die for you”? That’s a little bit stalkerish, isn’t it?

  1. I think you’re missing the point here… Bruno is saying that he would die for her (as an expression of his love), but has recently realised that while he loves her so dearly (prepared to die in her place, if need be), she doesn’t have the same feelings towards him. Bruno is a prolific songwriter who is acutely aware of the message he wants to convey through his lyrics. The exact opposite of this blog’s author, then.

    1. Bruno is saying he would do all of these dramatic things but can’t make himself say YOU? Rhyming “Ya” with “Ya” would enable one to become a “prolific songwriter”.

      The song is stupid and annoying. Thanks.

  2. and bruno’s intense devotion needs to be reciprocated because… lol

    could it be, that it’s not true love? what does love mean these days anyway.. the whole chorus sounds like something an abuser would say

  3. The radio station we are forced to listen to at work plays this song at LEAST 5 times a day. I want to shove a mechanical pencil deep into my ear when it comes on.
    The sound of this guy’s voice is so weak, so bland, so *insincere* that the lyrics are even more insipid than they would be if sung by a singer with testicles.
    I FREAKING HATE THIS SONG!

    EAT a grenade, why don’t you?!

Leave a Reply

