Why getting older sucks: what I miss about being a child

http://www.suddenlysenior.com

Recently I celebrated my birthday (please, no applause, it happens every year) and turned the grand age of 26. I’m still young, I know this. But getting older sucks. I don’t mean this in the sense of the body wearing down and hair loss and stuff like that. I mean that things change a lot and certain things you used to do, you no longer do.

For me, these are the reasons getting older sucks:

1 – Neighbourhood cricket no longer happens: when last did you see children in a street playing cricket? I bet you haven’t seen this for ages… This was one of the best elements of my childhood and the friendships I made were amazing and remain until this day. Now friendships are built over Xbox, PS3 and other suchs things. It’s just not the same…

2 – Cartoons are now dreadful: what ever happened to the days of Scooby-Doo, The Flintstones, The Jetsons and the like? Yeah, you still find then, but they’ve been overtaken by drivel like Ed, Edd and Eddy, Bakugan Battle Brawlers (this is not made up…) and nonsense like that. Old cartoons had life lessons subtly built in; lessons about friendship, in particular. Now cartoons are about flatulance and what special power the monster in your card has. It’s just not the same.

3 – Conversation no longer happens: I remember sitting down and talking to people. Not texting while you half-listen with the TV blaring in the background (and, yes, I’m guilty of doing exactly this). The art of conversation – and it is an art – is dying and it’s not often you can sit listening to someone completely enthralled. It sucks.

4 – Friendships are now fickle: children make friends easily and like being friends with people. It’s not selfish. It’s not for self-gain. I tend to find that people are making connections now because on what they can get out of those connections. The shape of friendship is changing – and it sucks. Finding a good friend now, one who simply likes your company and you have a strong connection with, is rare. This shouldn’t be the case.

I get that change happens. I like change, to a certain extent. I just think that some things are changing for the worse. Maybe it’s me changing. Maybe the 10-year-old version of myself would love what happens these days. I don’t know. I just think it sucks.

One thought on “Why getting older sucks: what I miss about being a child

  1. I honestly do not see how any of your points is inherently connected with age. Video Game Consoles did not gain popularity because YOU grew up. You just grew up at the same time as kids started to concentrate their free time on video game consoles – it’s a corrolary, not a causal connection. So if playing cricket and having conversations is something you miss about being a child, than it should be quite easy to relieve your feeling of nostalgia. All the cartoons you liked so much are still very much there – why don’t you just watch them? If you made good friends while playing cricket – why do you complain about how nobody wants to be friends anymore?
    You, Sir, should consider that nostalgia is a faulty feeling. Nostalgia is us not being able to remember what sucks, and just remembering what we think was good. Don’t trust your memory. http://www.smbc-comics.com/index.php?db=comics&id=2020#comic

Leave a Reply

