Where’s all the good music gone?

Doof, doof, doof. Wikki, wikki, wah. Doof. Yeah, baby, ooh, yeah. Doof.

Modern music... it makes my head explode

Is it just me, or is this the grand total of the music doing the rounds on South African radio stations at the moment? Maybe it’s not even a South African problem, maybe the above is the case across the world, where generic nonsensical forms of music are flighted across the airwaves. I swear, the other day, I thought the wonderful (and, yes, I mean that in the most sarcastic tone possible) East Coast Radio had the same song on repeat for about 15 minutes (with the adverts, self-promoting and check-out-our-ECR-blog shit they go on endlessly about between the tracks, of course). That’s how generic, how unoriginal, the songs were. It made me angry.

What I couldn’t work out, though, was where this problem came in. Were the producers at the radio station so dull, lazy and useless – to put it bluntly – that they couldn’t find better music? Or is this what modern pop music has become; a series of same-sounding teens that think they can worble on about love? Please may it not be the latter… Although I worry that it is.

That second thought makes my head explode. Violently.

As my mind burned at this thought, I put my iPod on, put on the headphones and turned up the volume. The first track that came on? Eric Clapton’s “Layla” (the unplugged version). Wow. Track two? The Eagles’ “Hotel California“, one of the best songs ever written. Next up was “Piano Man“, by Billy Joel, of course.

Eric Clapton. The man is a genius. A great song writer. Let's get more like him on radio, please. We deserve better than the kak we get at the moment.

What do these tracks have in common? They are beautifully written. That’s what’s wrong with modern music: it’s churned out, manufactured, computerised. Yeah, some of it’s catchy. Some of it is impossible to get out of your head. But it’s not good music. Not by a long shot.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not saying that all new music is aweful. Some of it is very decent. There are some really good songwriters around. As I typed this paragraph John Mayer’s “Gravity” came on – it is hauntingly beautiful; stunningly beautiful, actually. And this because of how well written it is.

Clearly there is some good music out there, radio stations just need to stop being so pathetically bad – so comercially driven – that they bother to find it. Radio listeners deserve good, original music. Hell, we should demand it.

Ooh, Clapton’s “Tears in Heaven” has just come on. My anger has subsided. Wow, this man is a genius. Blog over.

Leave a Reply

